Info

Archinect Sessions One-to-One

Archinect Sessions One-to-One is a weekly podcast featuring interviews with architects spanning the professional and geographical map.
RSS Feed
Archinect Sessions One-to-One
2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: Page 1
Nov 7, 2016

Never Built New York, by curators and authors Greg Goldin and Sam Lubell, is an astounding collection of architectural projects that never made it into being. The book features projects from the last two centuries, sited all throughout the five boroughs, that range from the monumental to the mortifying. Alongside infamous projects like Buckminster Fuller’s dome over Manhattan and Frank Lloyd Wright’s Key Plan for Ellis Island, visions for an alternate New York-urbanism abound: aborted reflections of their time, place and politics.

The book continues in the tradition of Goldin and Lubell's 2013 exhibition, "Never Built Los Angeles", including focused research on each project alongside gorgeous drawings and visualizations. I spoke with the authors about their curatorial approach to the book, and the projects that they were most excited by.

0 Comments